A new recording of Led Zeppelin’s 1972 Kyoto show is reportedly being released as a bootleg

(Yahoo Auctions)

A newly surfaced audience recording of Led Zeppelin’s October 10, 1972 show in Kyoto, Japan is reportedly being released by Japanese bootleg label Empress Valley.

A leaflet promoting a fourth audience recording of the band’s Kyoto 1972 concert was photographed and posted on Twitter on August 6 by the user yuminori0616 who has previously shared accurate information about bootleg releases.

The leaflet reportedly says that a newly emerged fourth audience recording source of the show will be released “soon” by Empress Valley.

So far, three audience recording sources for the October 10, 1972 show have emerged. A third audience tape was released by the bootleg label Tarantura/T2K in 2016 under the title “Evil Spirits In Kyoto” although is widely considered to have been heavily edited and “brickwalled“.

Empress Valley’s 2018 bootleg box set release titled “The Overture” and “The Campaign” has until now been considered the most complete version of the October 10, 1972 show.

Led Zeppelin Official Forum member zepster1979 reviewed that night’s inclusion on the box set, writing: “Another upgrade. Again, as the basic source there’s tape known from many past titles, and again, this new version is taken from much cleaner and brighter copy. Also, for the first time there’s no short cut and repeat in middle of Dazed. Source transitions are great as everywhere else in this set. The recently released T2K 6cd set Evil Spirits in Kyoto is one of a hell mistake when compared with this one! They should have learned of how to treat recordings when compared with this new version.”

Here’s the setlist for the October 10, 1972 show, according to Led Zeppelin’s official website:

  • Rock and Roll
  • Black Dog
  • Misty Mountain Hop
  • Since I’ve Been Loving You
  • The Song Remains the Same
  • Rain Song
  • Dazed and Confused
  • Stairway to Heaven
  • Over the Hills and Far Away
  • Whole Lotta Love (medley incl. Everybody Needs Someone To Love, Let That Boy Boogie, That’s Alright Mama, Jump the Broomstick, Going Down Slow)
  • Immigrant Song
Follow Led Zeppelin News on Twitter and Facebook to stay up to date on news as it happens. You can also sign up to our email for a digest of the latest news sent to your inbox. LedZepNews uses paid Amazon referral links to earn commissions to cover its costs.

4 Comments on "A new recording of Led Zeppelin’s 1972 Kyoto show is reportedly being released as a bootleg"

  1. I am Very Excited for this bootleg release.
    Long Live Led Zeppelin 🌹💯

  2. Super

  3. Can’t wait 😁

  4. Bring it on Home, Love Zeppelin

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.