Jimmy Page announces the release of a 1961 Chris Farlowe recording

YouTube/BBC News

Jimmy Page announced on his website today that he will release an album of demo recordings by Chris Farlowe titled “Chris Farlowe & The Thunderbirds: The Beginning…” on April 30.

The album was produced by Page back in 1961, and he has written liner notes for the new release. Interestingly, Page’s site prominently mentions that the album will be released on Jimmy Page Records, which signals that further releases may be on the way.

The Farlowe album will be released in two formats: A standard edition and a deluxe edition signed by both Page and Farlowe.

A quotation from Page’s liner notes can be found on SoundCloud:

The band settled into their recording role immediately and an album was recorded that day. The guitar and bass were recorded by direct injection and the band listened to their progress via headphones…They adapted really quickly to this method, the individual performance exhibits the style and class that this band had and Chris Farlowe’s performance is absolutely extraordinary.

The tracklist for the album is as follows:

1. Entry of the Slaves
2. Spring is Near
3. What’d I Say
4. Let the Good Times Roll
5. Sticks and Stones
6. Kansas City
7. I’m Moving On
8. Just a Dream
9. Matchbox
10. Money
11. Hurtin’ Inside
12. Watch Your Step

Listen to a sample track from the album below:

Follow Led Zeppelin News on Twitter and Facebook to stay up to date on news as it happens. You can also sign up to our email for a digest of the latest news sent to your inbox. LedZepNews uses paid Amazon referral links to earn commissions to cover its costs.

Be the first to comment on "Jimmy Page announces the release of a 1961 Chris Farlowe recording"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.