Robert Plant talked about the upcoming Band Of Joy album in a new interview

(BBC Television)

Robert Plant talked about the upcoming second Band Of Joy album in a new interview, and has also hinted that a second album with Alison Krauss may be on the way.

Plant’s online merchandise store let slip on July 27 that a follow up to the Band Of Joy’s 2010 album is on the way. The page for the new “Digging Deep: Subterranea” compilation mentions “the soon to be released album Band of Joy Volume 2.”

The first song to be released from the second Band Of Joy album is “Charlie Patton Highway (Turn It Up – Part 1),” which will be released on the new Digging Deep compilation on October 2. The song is available on streaming services now.

Plant gave two BBC radio interviews on July 31 to promote his new compilation. He told Lauren Laverne in a BBC Radio 6 Music interview that he recorded 13 tracks for the second Band Of Joy album, including “Charlie Patton Highway (Turn It Up – Part 1).”

That song “originates in Buddy Miller’s downstairs front room,” Plant said. “Buddy Miller is a really great friend of mine and a great producer and he played with us on the Raising Sand tour with Alison Krauss and T Bone [Burnett]. He’s a very renowned Grammy-winning producer and arranger and makes fantastic records with his wife Julie.”

“I had a group called the Band Of Joy which we created after the Raising Sand tour had finished and Patty Griffin joined us and we had this amazing tour and amazing songs that we recorded.”

“And at the end of that tour, at the end of the Band Of Joy tour, Patty went off to work her album American Kid and Buddy and I started creating a Band Of Joy 2 and this was one of the things that we developed along the way.”

“It’s just the three of us. There’s Buddy, Marco Giovino on drums and myself and it’s one of about 13 pieces from that session that is hidden away in my cupboard.”

You can listen to the full interview here. Plant’s interview begins at 2:11:03.

Separately, Plant was also interviewed by Zoe Ball on July 31 on BBC Radio 2.

In the interview, Ball asked Plant about Lucinda Williams’ recent comments in an Uncut Magazine interview in which she said she had been recording with Plant, Krauss and T Bone Burnett. Ball asked whether that confirms that a new Plant album with Krauss is on the way.

“She’s a little tinker, that Lucinda,” Plant said. “In fact, that sounds like a lyric already! Well, there’s all sorts of stuff rumbling and smoking left, right and centre right now.”

You can listen to the full interview here. Plant’s interview begins at 2:41:10.

Plant has repeatedly dropped hints that he and Krauss would record a follow up to 2007’s Raising Sand album.

In October 2017, he told Associated Press that he was compiling a list of songs to record with Krauss.

In January 2018, he told WFPK that he had been talking to Krauss about a follow-up album.

And in an interview published in Classic Rock Magazine in November 2019, he said he was “sure” that he and Krauss would record another album.

Plant was photographed at Nashville International Airport with Tony Iommi back in December.

The last music released by the pair is “Light of Christmas Day,” a song released in 2015 for the soundtrack to the film “Love the Coopers.”

Follow Led Zeppelin News on Twitter and Facebook to stay up to date on news as it happens. You can also sign up to our email for a digest of the latest news sent to your inbox. LedZepNews uses paid Amazon referral links to earn commissions to cover its costs.

9 Comments on "Robert Plant talked about the upcoming Band Of Joy album in a new interview"

  1. Glad he’s still creating music. One of the greats.

  2. Marcelo R Gomes | 3rd August 2020 at 5:04 am | Reply

    Robert Plant is always surprising us with excellent news.

  3. Stephen Still | 3rd August 2020 at 8:58 am | Reply

    Those first albums were great!Look forward to hearing any new ones.

  4. Well well. It didn’t take yours truly less than listening to the first 4 Bars of Whole lotta love in 1968 From then l got the Point Guys from that day on lve been their No.Fan….THANKYOU.

  5. Gut Roby!!!

  6. RP how about a led zep tour combined with your new bands love to see it before the candle of life fades a true ledgend back then and now

  7. Luis Voisin Chimeno | 4th August 2020 at 5:13 pm | Reply

    Amazing Robert Play!!!!!
    Drummer solo Luis Voisin
    Toronto, Canada.

  8. The Plant Krauss album has been finished for years.
    They just couldn’t get along and so it wasn’t ever released. Trust me though, it’s done and it’s awesome.
    I worked on it.

  9. Band of Joy without Patty? Did I read that right? 🙁

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.