The second Robert Plant and Alison Krauss album will be released in November

Raise the Roof Robert Plant Alison Krauss

The second album from Robert Plant and Alison Krauss is called “Raise the Roof” and will be released on November 19.

The track list is almost all cover versions, although “High and Lonesome” is an original song co-written by Plant and producer T Bone Burnett.

The first single from the album, “Can’t Let Go,” is now available to stream.

Plant and Krauss are planning a tour in 2022 to promote the album, according to a press release published on August 12.

“We wanted it to move,” Krauss said in a statement. “We brought other people in, other personalities within the band, and coming back together again in the studio brought a new intimacy to the harmonies.”

“There was so much enthusiasm, excitement and adrenaline that it would have been folly if we didn’t keep going [after the release of the first Plant and Krauss album in 2007],” Plant said.

“We did join up and consider songs, try to work out some ideas, but then somebody would ask if I’d want to take my band to the Arctic Circle-‘OK, I’ll do that, call you back, Alison!’ And then she goes off and gets another Grammy. We’ve both constantly made new recordings.”

“I knew what we could share. In the length of time that I’ve been making records, this is very rewarding, but a very unusual place to find myself,” he added.

“You hear something and you go ‘Man, listen to that song, we got to sing that song!'” Plant continued. “It’s a vacation, really—the perfect place to go that you least expected to find.”

“The Betty Harris song ‘Trouble With My Lover’ was always in the air,” Plant said. “To hear Alison sing that is such a great way of her turning her gift around. And Bobby Moore’s ‘Searching for My Love’ is something I used to sing at school, another nugget of beautiful lost soul music which has been ricocheting between us for a long time.”

“I’ve heard Lucinda Williams sing ‘Can’t Let Go’ forever, and I sent that to Robert at least 10 years ago,” Krauss said. “I remember riding around listening to it and thinking it would be so much fun to do together.”

The album will be released digitally as well as on CD and vinyl. It will be available on a standard CD as well as a deluxe hardback version with two bonus tracks. There’s also a Target exclusive CD featuring alternative art and the two bonus tracks. People in Australia can order a hardback CD version which does not include the two bonus tracks.

Qobuz is selling a high definition digital version of the album which will include the two bonus tracks.

There will also be a range of vinyl releases which we have detailed below:

The album sees Plant and Krauss accompanied by drummer Jay Bellerose, guitarists Marc Ribot, David Hidalgo, Bill Frisell, and Buddy Miller, bassists Dennis Crouch and Viktor Krauss, along with pedal steel guitarist Russ Pahl among others.

Lucinda Williams contributes backing vocals on “Can’t Let Go,” a cover of her own recording. Williams told Uncut Magazine last year that she had been recording with Plant and Krauss.

Here’s the tracklist for the new album:

  1. Quattro (World Drifts In) (4:35)
  2. The Price of Love (4:50)
  3. Go Your Way (5:07)
  4. Trouble With My Lover (4:03)
  5. Searching for My Love (4:03)
  6. Can’t Let Go (3:41)
  7. It Don’t Bother Me (5:06)
  8. You Led Me to the Wrong (4:17)
  9. Last Kind Words Blues (4:06)
  10. High and Lonesome (4:33)
  11. Going Where the Lonely Go (4:10)
  12. Somebody Was Watching Over Me (5:03)
  13. My Heart Would Know (2:59) (Deluxe CD and Target exclusive versions bonus track)
  14. You Can’t Rule Me (4:44) (Deluxe CD and Target exclusive versions bonus track)
Follow Led Zeppelin News on Twitter and Facebook to stay up to date on news as it happens. You can also sign up to our email for a digest of the latest news sent to your inbox. LedZepNews uses paid Amazon referral links to earn commissions to cover its costs.

8 Comments on "The second Robert Plant and Alison Krauss album will be released in November"

  1. This song can’t let go is a rocking country blues bluegrass rockabilly sound I really love it

  2. It’s amazing how his voice has adapted over the years and he still sounds amazing. Though not really a fan of his solo stuff, after hearing that I might just get the album!

  3. Roy JOHN Watson | 12th August 2021 at 3:28 pm | Reply

    sounds ok i was not a big fan of riseing sand i wont buy this new album


  5. Ingvar Åström | 12th August 2021 at 5:07 pm | Reply

    Wonderful! 😘

  6. I loved Raising Sand, loved Led Zeppelin, love Plant, and can not wait to hear this album!

  7. Gone baby gone 2

  8. Indiana Michelle | 3rd September 2021 at 2:01 pm | Reply

    Been hoping for years they would do another collaboration! I think Can’t Let Go is a perfect choice. I’ve always loved this song by Lucinda Williams. Can’t wait to hear the rest of the album! No doubt it will be superb! I think I’ll have to get the Target deluxe edition in vinyl for the two extra songs! 🏆

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.