Here are the details of the upcoming 1971 soundboard bootleg


Japanese bootleg label Empress Valley will release a new partial soundboard recording of Led Zeppelin’s September 28, 1971 performance in Osaka, Japan within weeks.

Since the bootleg release was announced, several new details have emerged.

The tracklist

The soundboard recording doesn’t cover the whole gig. See the full tracklist of the show below, with the songs included on the new soundboard recording marked with a star.

  • Immigrant Song
  • Heartbreaker * (the soundboard recording starts midway through this song)
  • Since I’ve Been Loving You *
  • Black Dog *
  • Dazed and Confused *
  • Stairway to Heaven *
  • Please Please Me / From Me to You *
  • Celebration Day *
  • Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp *
  • That’s the Way *
  • Going to California *
  • We Shall Overcome *
  • Tangerine *
  • Down by the Riverside *
  • What Is and What Should Never Be *
  • Moby Dick *
  • Whole Lotta Love
  • C’mon Everybody
  • Hi-Heel Sneakers
  • Communication Breakdown

If you’re curious about the quality of the new bootleg, Empress Valley released “Black Dog” from this source back in 2016. Listen to it below:

The September 28, 1971 show has already been available as three audience tapes, but no full soundboard recording has emerged.

The release formats

The new bootleg will be released in the following formats:

Please Please Me

A 6 CD box set which includes the new soundboard source, a mixture of the new soundboard and existing audience sources as well as a bonus disk of live performances of Beatles songs.

God Save The Queen

A 5CD box set which includes the new soundboard source as well as a mixture of the new soundboard and existing audience sources.

Standard release

This 3 CD release includes a mixture of the soundboard and existing audience sources.

The packaging

Two sneak peeks of the packaging for the new bootleg release can be seen in the image from this tweet:

Follow Led Zeppelin News on Twitter and Facebook to stay up to date on news as it happens. You can also sign up to our email for a digest of the latest news sent to your inbox. LedZepNews uses paid Amazon referral links to earn commissions to cover its costs.

1 Comment on "Here are the details of the upcoming 1971 soundboard bootleg"

  1. Oh great again form EVSD! They should do this all on vinyl, so they don´t be afraid of lossless copying

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.