A new recording of Led Zeppelin’s 1972 Kyoto show was released as a bootleg

Led Zeppelin Kyoto 1972 bootleg Last Ballad

A newly emerged audience recording of Led Zeppelin’s October 10, 1972 show in Kyoto, Japan has been released as a bootleg.

The newly surfaced fourth audience source for the show was released by Japanese bootleg label Empress Valley under the title “Last Ballad” this month.

The new bootleg release is a 4 CD box set including the full show from two different sources: The newly emerged fourth source and the second source which had been considered the most superior source for the show.

Photographs of the box set were posted online by Twitter user yuminori0616 who previously shared a promotional leaflet for the bootleg.

The bootleg release also includes a mini poster (which appears to be individually numbered out of 100 copies) and reproduction photographs of Led Zeppelin at a train station in Japan.

The bootleg release contains the fourth known recording of the show. Until now, three audience recording sources for the October 10, 1972 shows had emerged. A third audience source was released by the bootleg label Tarantura/T2K in 2016 under the title “Evil Spirits In Kyoto” although is widely considered to have been heavily edited and “brickwalled“.

Empress Valley’s 2018 bootleg box set release titled “The Overture” and “The Campaign” has until now been considered the most complete version of the October 10, 1972 show.


Led Zeppelin Official Forum member zepster1979 reviewed that night’s inclusion on the box set, writing: “Another upgrade. Again, as the basic source there’s tape known from many past titles, and again, this new version is taken from much cleaner and brighter copy. Also, for the first time there’s no short cut and repeat in middle of Dazed. Source transitions are great as everywhere else in this set. The recently released T2K 6cd set Evil Spirits in Kyoto is one of a hell mistake when compared with this one! They should have learned of how to treat recordings when compared with this new version.”

Here’s the setlist for the October 10, 1972 show, according to Led Zeppelin’s official website and the bootleg release’s packaging:

  • Rock and Roll
  • Black Dog
  • Misty Mountain Hop
  • Since I’ve Been Loving You
  • The Song Remains the Same
  • Rain Song
  • Dazed and Confused
  • Stairway to Heaven
  • Over the Hills and Far Away
  • Whole Lotta Love (medley incl. Everybody Needs Someone To Love, Let That Boy Boogie, That’s Alright Mama, Jump the Broomstick, Going Down Slow)
  • Immigrant Song
Follow Led Zeppelin News on Twitter and Facebook to stay up to date on news as it happens. You can also sign up to our email for a digest of the latest news sent to your inbox. LedZepNews uses paid Amazon referral links to earn commissions to cover its costs.

2 Comments on "A new recording of Led Zeppelin’s 1972 Kyoto show was released as a bootleg"

  1. Roy+JOHN+Watson | 23rd August 2022 at 4:24 pm | Reply

    expensive hobby bet it costs at least 100 pounds not only that are there any songs on there that you have never heard for die hards only

  2. Besides it being cool historical thing, the sound is horrible, and most fans of Led Zeppelin do not listen to this crap that comes out in bootleg form. Yeah I know there is few good unofficial recordings such as Listen to this Eddie, or 79 Copenhagen warmup shows. besides that the rest have been so tainted with mixed audio it sounds bad.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.